Review: SSG Kool Flo v. Roeckl Solar

I blew a hole in my gloves recently, and it was a sad day.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.25.32 PM.png
farewell my friends šŸ˜„

I’ve had my SSG Hybrids for about 5 years now, and despite the fact that they have held up pretty well, they do dye my hands black every summer. Therefore, I decided it was time to look at another style.

Since I already haveĀ an excellent pair of winter gloves already with the SSG Winter Training glove (thinsulate is my best friend in the winter), I figured why not just keep my focus on something super cool for the summertime? Our falls and springs in VA are short lived anyways, why bother.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.13.55 PM.png
Toastyyyyy

Based on reviews and research, I chose to compare the SSG Kool Flo and the Roeckl Solar.

I’ll keep it brief: the SSG Kool Flo was certainly more budget friendly than the Roeckl at about $24 online. However, I found the leather on the palm sideĀ of the gloves to be stiff. They were a bit “heavier” (not like crazy, just substantial for a summer glove), and the fit wasn’t as tight as I’d like (I’m a 6.5 glove size). Having said that, if you’re price sensitive, they seemed sturdy and like they would hold up quite well. Perhaps they’d get softer with use.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.16.30 PM.png
SSG Kool Flo

You can probably guess by now that I went with the Roeckl Solar glove, and here’s why: they areĀ MUCH lighter, like I-can-barely-tell-they’re-on-my-hands light. The fabric on the palm side isĀ much grippier and stickier than that of the Kool Flo. The fit isĀ more personalized and true to size, so the 6.5 fit perfectly snug. The top mesh isĀ much more sleek, modern,Ā and airy, and bonus points: it has SPF 10 in it so you won’t get a crazy glove tan or sunburn.

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 3.19.02 PM.png
Roeckl SolarĀ 

In terms of durability, to be honest, I don’t know if they can hold up. The mesh is very fine, but I think if I just take good care of them and don’t lose them, they’ll be fine. They’re about $43 online, so for about $20 more than the SSG’s, you’re definitely getting the fit and finesse that comes with that. I’ll be able to comment more on the durability and coolness factor after this season, but until then, the Solar glove really impressed me as the best summer glove out there by far.

Cheers y’all!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

