10 Questions for November

Great idea from L from Viva Carlos! Story telling time

How old is the youngest/greenest horse you’ve ridden?  2, a newbie

How old is the oldest horse you’ve ridden? 28ish maybe?

Were you scared of horses when you first started riding? No

Would you say you’re a more nervous rider or a confident rider? Confident.

Biggest pet peeve about non-horse people around horses? When they’re scared to get near the horse. I keep having to assure them it won’t kill them (on purpose).

A time you’ve been scared for your life? (horse related) My horse slipped on ice while we were cantering in a circle and fell on me. His roll stopped right below my hip so he didn’t roll over me completely, and luckily my trainer screamed at me to kick my foot out of the stirrup so I wasn’t dragged. No injuries other than a kickass bruise along my inner thigh for a few weeks afterwards.

Have you ever fallen off at show? What happened? No. I learned vaulting at a young age, which taught me hella good balance and how to execute a beautiful emergency dismount if needed. Couldn’t recommend that training enough.

What’s a breed of horse you’ve never ridden but would like to ride? Does an elephant count?

Describe the worst behaved horse you’ve ridden? Skippy. He was a little shit in the stall and absolutely loved bolting off with kids. I broke a wall in the indoor ring riding him one time when he tried to run off with me. He was greaaaaaaat. Silver lining: he taught me to have boundaries, and I learned the difference between a horse not doing what I wanted because I didn’t communicate it well versus he didn’t want to do it.

The most frustrating ride you’ve ever had? When I first learned how to frame a horse. They put me on a horse that didn’t “auto-frame,” and I must have spent 45 minutes kicking and pulling and pushing and fidgeting, trying to get this horse to frame and trying to figure out how to frame in the first place. Once I felt it though, I got it.

pcy4h.jpg

3 comments

Leave a Reply

