HITS Ocala 2016 Recap

I don’t know where to start for this post. I’ve been back for 4 days now and honestly cannot even begin to explain how much I learned, how much I excelled, and how much I enjoyed my time in Ocala.

As an Adult Amateur, I’m not fortunate enough to have a parent’s bank account to lean on, or even enough vacation time to travel all over the US for horse shows. I now envy those who work around these kinds of shows daily because even if you don’t get rich doing it, you’re at least having a blast! Plus, let’s be honest: golf carts. Enough said.

Anyways, back to Ocala! Overall, “Jerbear the Carebear” was amazing, and therefore Ocala was amazing. Terrible at combos (trainable) and doesn’t go in a frame (meh jumpers), he’s currently for sale, and I really really really want him. He was basically my bear/dog/horse for the week, and now that I’m back home, I miss him even more. I did a Reiki session this morning and my Reiki person told me she could immediately sense an extremely high level of sadness in me, and I immediately blurted out that I was sad to admit that leaving Jerry was hard. He’s such a talented, positive, snuggly animal, and I rarely have such close connections to my horses, so that should speak volumes. It’s not even the upfront cost that’s the worst; it’s the roughly $2000 a month in “horse expenses” that I can’t afford. Yay NOVA.

Fortunately, in non-horsey news, I’ve officially decided to put my real estate license to use, and I have decided to sign up with Keller Williams. If all goes well, and he’s still for sale, maybe I’ll be able to get my Jerbear back! #dreams

Jerry aside, I did work on myself a lot too. I worked on being more strategic. My biggest weakness in the jumpers historically has been remembering my courses (sometimes both of them), and the one thing I feel like I improved on this week was that. I started chunking the courses into either straight lines, broken lines, combos, and rollbacks, and I kept track of how many times I went from one end of the ring to the other. I started figuring out where, based on the horse I had, I could cut corners, slice fences, beat the clock, bounce him back, etc. I had strategies going into every course, and I had a friggin blast executing my plans. If every day I had the opportunity to compete in two jumper classes, I’d be in horse heaven, and I cannot wait until the next jumper show!

In the meantime, and for your viewing pleasure, I’ve attached some fun youtube videos of a few of my rounds. Unfortunately, mom isn’t great with filming on iPhones, so we didn’t get all of them, but here’s what I’ve got. Enjoy!

Day 1: .8m, I still think the wind blew that last rail off (note the other jump standards fell at the exact same time, hmmm). Allegedly I came back just a smidgen too soon, and he hit the rail with his hind legs. A likely story…. 🙂

Day 1: .9m, didn’t touch anything, ended up with 8th in a speed round. Yay poop-colored ribbons!

Day 2: .9m, morning session, hit a rail as typical. Apparently when I whisper “whoa,” Jerbear really whoas. Like almost stops. Like holy hell, didn’t think that was the amount of whoa I’d get considering I just said whoa. Made a note, and never said whoa again.

Day 2: Adult Lows, .9m, afternoon session. Sorry it’s blurry, but it’s the best video I got. Were clear for the first power part, cowboyed around for the speed part. Got a flyer but was clear. Ended up with 2nd place.

Day 3: Adult Lows, .9m, afternoon session. 6th place win. Lots of fun slicing around this course

Day 4: Adult lows, .95m, afternoon session. Got lost before fence 4 but still won 6th place.

 

6 comments

  1. congrats on all the ribbons! Jerbear is adorable – it’s cool to see you guys clicking together better and better from one video to the next. i think you need to win the lottery and buy him 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

