I Thought I Had It All…

And then, I discovered I needed a new saddle. Wahhhhhh.

To jog your memory, my current saddle is a used, 17.5″ medium tree Pessoa. It’s honestly in great shape, and it has done nothing wrong to warrant being sold.IMG_4486.JPG

Unfortunately, on Wednesday, I received the below text from my assistant instructor:

“I’m running an experiment, will you ride Gracie in my saddle and  half pads tonight? The pads are on top of my saddle”

Naturally, I responded in the most enthusiastic manner:

“Sure! Let me find my spanx… Lol” (Her saddle is a 16, maybe 16.5″)

Anywho, she has a Devoucoux Biarritz with a wide twist, and it felt odd when I first sat in in. The seat felt more “square” if that makes sense, which was an adjustment but I can’t say I hated it! I walked, trotted, cantering was a breeze. We popped over a crossrail, and it was easy. Then we popped over a vertical, and the only thing I said after was “OMG WOW I DO NOT HATE THIS SADDLE.” It was like my inner thighs could ACTUALLY be used while jumping, which helped me keep my butt over my seat, my leg stayed in place, and I heard angels sing!

My instructor basically laughed and told me she didn’t want to be the one to tell me but my leg and seat is so much effective in the Devoucoux, to which I promptly asked, “So what you’re saying is, I need a new saddle?” And she proceeded to put on an evil and excited grin and nodded.

I have to say I’m excited to shop around, but a bit disappointed I didn’t get more miles out of my Pessoa. It’s a classic saddle, and I expected it to take me around for the next 20-30 years. I got about 5-10 out of this saddle (I can’t remember when I bought it but I know it was in college at some point), and I was just hoping it would be my “forever till death do us part” saddle.

Oh well, I am pumped to get a saddle that basically cradles me like a child’s seat! ❤

However, does anyone have any tips on how to sell a used saddle these days? What’s the most popular way? Craigslist? Ebay? Tack exchanges?

10 comments

Leave a Reply

