Sorry I Died

But I’m back! I know I disappeared for a bit back there, but I recently left my job and have been traveling like a crazy person since!

Went to New England to visit family for the fourth:

Why yes, we did light a log on fire for the Fourth. And it burned. For almost 2 days.
Why yes, we did light a log on fire for the Fourth. And it burned. For almost 2 days.
Fireworks with one of my best friends from college!
Fireworks with one of my best friends from college!
McDonald's Lobster Roll. Was actually pretty good!
McDonald’s Lobster Roll. Was actually pretty good!

Then went to Hawaii to visit my godfather:

My favorite beach,
My favorite beach, “White Sands Beach”
Breakfast POG mimosa
Breakfast POG mimosa
Cherry, lime, green tea Hawaiian Ice with a scoop of Tahitian vanilla ice cream on the inside and a snowcap on top (i.e. condensed milk, i.e. extra sugar)
Cherry, lime, green tea Hawaiian Ice with a scoop of Tahitian vanilla ice cream on the inside and a snowcap on top (i.e. condensed milk, i.e. extra sugar)
Spam and egg misubi
Spam and egg misubi
Uncle Roy's lanai
Uncle Roy’s lanai
Hawaiian polo match!
Hawaiian polo match!

So I don’t have much to write in the world of riding, but I did have a lesson on Wednesday that went pretty well. We did some gymnastics, and i worked on keeping my leg on over fences and then sitting deep and straight after to get my lead changes. The course was:

Screen Shot 2015-07-17 at 12.34.13 PM

So we came in from the left, gymnastics down the middle, circle, jump 2, come back to a trot, down them middle, circle, jump 3, and then we’re done.

I was really focused on keeping my leg still over the gymnastics, especially considering my riding instructor had to tie my stirrups to my girth last time, which was not fun! That felt a lot better than it has been. I racked up my leathers about 3 holes, which has definitely forced my heel farther down, and thus has allowed me to keep my leg more easily on Gracie. It actually feels like I have some WEIGHT in my stirrups, such a difference!

That aside, I’ve been working on keeping a straight horse and then getting my flying lead changes with Gracie. She does really well when going from right to left, but left to right we struggle. I took to heart what Erin (follow her at https://thestorysofarequestrian.wordpress.com) told me last time, which was to really focus on sitting up, sitting deep, and reorganizing myself in my corners.

WHAT A DIFFERENCE THAT MADE! Holy cow, I sat up and deep and straight after going down the middle and I had the lead change before I even went to turn! I think before my problem was that I was going into the “riding fetal position,” and Gracie, not being of large stature, wasn’t able to actually get the full lead change because I would be leaning too far ahead on her and weighing her down. Now that I’m centered and straight, she’s centered and straight, and able to actually get the lead changes. PHEW! Now I just need to practice practice practice.

Until then, I’m off to the beach with the boyfriend and his family this weekend. Funemployment can be so stressful 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

